Contact Information

Massachusetts Eye and Ear

Department of Otolaryngology
243 Charles Street, Boston, MA 02114

Co-Director: Joseph B. Nadol, Jr., M.D.
Email: joseph_nadol@meei.harvard.edu
Tel: 617-573-3654

Co-Director: Michael J. McKenna, M.D.
Email: michael_mckenna@meei.harvard.edu
Tel: 617-573-4161

ACTIVE LAB: Processing all types of new specimens


Goodhill Ear Center, UCLA School of Medicine collection is now part of:

The Neurotology and House Histologic Temporal Bone Laboratory of UCLA

31-24 Rehabilitation Center
1000 Veteran Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90094

Director: Fred H. Linthicum, Jr., M.D.
Email: flinthicum@mednet.ucla.edu
Tel: 310-825-4480

Associate Director: Akira Ishiyama, M.D.
Email: ishiyama@ucla.edu
Tel: 310-206-2041

Lab Contact: Ivan Lopez M.D.
Email: ivan@mednet.ucla.edu

Tel: 301-825-5331

Staff Research Associate: Ana Cordero
Email: acordero@mednet.ucla.edu
Tel: 310-825-5331

Temporal Bone Laboratory Coordinator: Marian Rush
Email: mrush@mednet.ucla.edu
Tel: 310-825-4488

ACTIVE LAB: Processing all types of new specimens


New York University temporal bone collection is now located at:

University of Minnesota

Lyons Research Building
Otopathology Laboratory

2001 6th Street, S.E.
Lions Research Building, Room 210
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Tel: 612-624-5466

Director: Michael M. Paparella, M.D.
Email: papar001@umn.edu
Tel: 612-339-2836
Fax 612-339-9741

ACTIVE LAB: Processing all types of new specimens
 


Armed Forces Institute of Pathology temporal bone collection is now located at:

National Museum of Health and Medicine

2460 Linden Lane
Silver Spring, MD 20910

Collections Manager: Archie Fobbs
Email: archibald.j.fobbs.civ@mail.mil
Tel: 301-319-3300

Curator, Anatomical Division: Brian F. Spatola, M.A.
Email: brian.f.spatola.civ@mail.mil
Tel: 301-319-3353


Baylor College of Medicine

6501 Fannin Suite Temporal Bone Lab, 3rd floor, Neurosensory Building
Houston, TX 77030

Director: Alex Sweeney, MD
Email: Alex.Sweeney@bcm.edu
Tel: 713-798-7217
Fax: 713-798-5078


Case Western Reserve University temporal bone collection is now located at:

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

5323 Harry Hines Boulevard
Dallas, TX 75390

Director: Karen Pawlowski
Email: Karen.pawlowski@utsouthwestern.edu
Tel: 214-648-2574
Lab: 214-648-7280


Columbia University

Columbia Presbyterian Hospital Otolaryngology
180 Ft. Washington Avenue, 7th Floor
New York, NY 10032

Chairman: Lawrence R. Lustig, M.D.
Email: lrl2125@cumc.columbia.edu
Tel: 212-305-5820


Eye and Ear Institute of Pittsburgh

Elizabeth McCullough Knowles Otopathology Laboratory
203 Lothrop Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Director: Barry Hirsch, M.D.
Email: hirschbe@upmc.edu
Tel: 412-647-8186
Fax: 412-647-2080


Henry Ford Hospital

Department of Otolaryngology HNS
2799 West Grand Boulevard
Detroit, MI 48202

Director: Laura Brainard, M.D.
Email: lbraina1@hfhs.org
Tel: 313-916-2600


University of Florida, Department of Otolaryngology

J. Hillis Miller Health Center
P.O. Box 100264
Gainsville, FL 32610-0264

Director: Patrick J. Antonelli, M.D.
Email: pa@ufl.edu
Tel: 352-273-5199
Fax: 352-392-6781


Johns Hopkins University

Department of Otolaryngology
Head and Neck Surgery

6420 Rockledge Drive, Suite 4920
Bethesda, MD 20817

Director: Wade Chein, M.D.
Email: wchien1@jhmi.edu
Tel: 443-997-6467

Co-Director: Mohamed Lehar, M.D.
Email: mlehar@jhmi.edu


Kresge Hearing Research Institute University of Michigan

1301 East Ann Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-0506

Director: Richard Altschuler, Ph.D.
Email: shuler@umich.edu
Tel: 734-763-0060
Fax: 734-764-0014


Medical University of South Carolina

Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
165 Ashley Avenue
Suite 309, PO Box 250908
Charleston, SC 29425

Director: Bradley A. Schulte, Ph.D.
Email: schulteb@musc.edu
Tel: 843-792-2704
Fax: 843-792-0368


Tufts Medical Center

Department of Otolaryngology
800 Washington Street, #850
Boston, MA 02111

Otolaryngologist-in-Chief and Chair: Elie E. Rebeiz, M.D.
Email: erebeiz@tuftsmedicalcenter.org
Tel: 617-636-1664


Northwestern University Medical School

303 E. Chicago Avenue, Searle 12-561
Chicago, IL 60611

Director: Alan G. Micco, M.D.
Email: agm109@northwestern.edu
Tel: 312-908-5511 or 312-695-8182


Ohio collection is now located at Massachusetts Eye and Ear, Boston, MA

Otological Research Laboratories

University Hospitals Clinic
The Ohio State University

456 W 10th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210

Director: Oliver Adunka, M.D.
Email: oliver.adunka@osumc.edu
Tel: 614-366-3687


Shea Clinic Foundation

6133 Poplar Pike
Memphis, TN 38119

Director: Paul F. Shea, M.D.
Email: PFSheaMD@mac.com
Tel: 901-761-9720
Fax: 901-683-8440


Wake Forest School of Medicine

Department Of Otolaryngology
Medical Center Boulevard,
Winston-Salem, NC 27157

Director: John May, M.D.
Tel: 336-722-3321
Fax: 336-722-8138
Email: jsmay@wfubmc.edu

Lab Contact: Drew Plonk, M.D.
Tel: 773-702-5138
Fax: 773-702-6809
Email: dplonk@wfubmc.edu


University of California, San Diego

Department of Otolaryngology
Head and Neck Surgery

9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92093-0666

Co-Director: Jeffery P. Harris, M.D., Ph.D.
Email: jpharris@ucsd.edu
Tel: 619-543-5910
Fax: 619-543-5521

Co-Director: Elizabeth M. Keithley, Ph.D.
Email: ekeithley@ucsd.edu
Tel: 858-534-2201
Fax: 858-534-5319


University of Chicago

Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery
5841 S. Maryland Avenue, MC1035
Chicago, IL 60637

Co-Director: Michael B. Gluth, M.D.
Email: mgluth1@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu
Tel: 773-702-3158
Fax: 773-702-6809

Lab Associate Scientist: Erik Nelson, M.D.
Email: egnelson@aol.com
Fax: 773-702-6809


University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics

Department of Otolaryngology
Head and Neck Surgery

200 Hawkins Drive, E230, Iowa City, IA 52242

This laboratory also contains the temporal bone collection of Barry J. Anson, which was used in the classic text
"The Temporal Bone and The Ear" by Theodore H. Bast and Barry J. Anson. Charles C. Thomas, Springfield, Illinois.

Co-Director: Marlan Hansen, M.D.
Email: marlan-hansen@uiowa.edu
Tel: 319-353-7151
Fax: 319-356-4547

Co-Director: Bruce J. Gantz, M.D.
Email: bruce-gantz@uiowa.edu
Tel: 319-356-2173
Fax: 319-356-4547

Co-Director: Richard J.H. Smith, M.D.
Email: richard-smith@uiowa.edu
Tel: 319-356-3612
Fax: 319-356-4547


University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

Department of Otolaryngology
P.O. Box 26901, Room 3SP410
Oklahoma City, OK 73190-3048

Director: Wayne Berryhill, M.D.
Email: Wayne-Berryhill@OUHSC.edu
Tel: 405-271-5504 or 405-271-7559


University of Wisconsin Hospital

Otological Collection
600 Highland Avenue, Madison, Wl 53792

Co-Director: G. Mark Pyle, M.D.
Email: pyle@surgery.wisc.edu
Tel: 608-265-5470 or 608-263-6190


University of Massachusetts, Worcester

55 Lake Avenue North
Worcester, MA 01655

Director: Richard R. Gacek, M.D.
Email: GacekR@ummhc.org
Tel: 508-856-4162


User login for designated personnel to view detailed content only